anecdote, fear, food, Inspiration, Life, prose, Storytelling, writing

A Flaky Scare

Feeling the overwhelming hunger pangs while marking, I hotfooted to the kitchen for a quick bite. Opening up the tupperware containers one after another, seeking for a desirable bite of delight, I finally found two Chinese pastries with gelatinous winter melon fillings. Like popping in a pill, I opened my mouth to the widest possible to squeeze the flaky piece in to every stretchable space within. A facile feat for me! When I finally did, some flaky bits fell to the sink top; of which I didn’t expect to, for I had done the gorging as immaculately as I could, I thought. Thinking that it was the moment to savour my delight, I directed a downcast glance to see if there were anymore flaky bits fallen, escaping my sight. Lo and behold! A white ant crawling across the flakes emerged brazenly from nowhere. Yuck! A resonating disgust echoed aloud in my head. Retching it up was the thought popped up! Within seconds, the delectable pastries ended their fate not in my gut but the bin. What a palpitatng scare!
© Derrick Lim

Standard

Leave a comment