Life, love, spirituality

A Close Shave

On 13 Jul 2016, at 0709h, the unexpected had happened! Moving off in my red saloon, I was cruising my little princess to school like any other day. As usual, we were confabulating in the car ride. When approaching the traffic junction of a dual carriageway along her school, I tapped the hazard light, getting ready to drop my girl off. Then, I had a sudden jolt of alertness, unlike my usual self, which drew me to glance at the rear mirror. To my disbelief, I noticed a motorcyclist attempting to wriggle its way through the port of my car when my girl was about to get out. At the drop of a hat, I hollered at her to pull back the door, and she did. Following that in a jiffy, he biked past. What a close shave! Seconds in time were like eternity for me to take that all in. Thank God! reverberated in my head instinctively. I couldn’t imagine what might’ve happened to my little sweetie if I hadn’t responded to that situation reflexively fast. Indeed, the Lord reigned in this close shave!

© Derrick Lim 

Standard

Leave a Reply

