Life

An Unexpected Scare!

While enjoying a platter of hodgepodge rice at lunch, I felt a sudden light ticklish sensation running up my left calf. Sensing something amiss, my immediate reflex was to look down under. To my horror! a dark brown cockcroach was taking a slide down. At the drop of a hat, I shook it off convulsively–and it scooted off faster than I could stamp it to its death. And guess what? Out of the corner of my eye, I caught a lady seated diagonally across the other end of another table, looking on amusingly at my startled spasm. Turning my gaze to meet hers, I broke my tauted facial muscles of disdain at the creepy crawly into a forced grin; it was as if to ease my way out of the awkward embarrassment or perhaps a way of concealing my caught-off-guard frenzy of fear. What a creepy encounter!

Anathe
nom de plume

Standard

Leave a Reply

